Maximum Velocity 6 – sprint tournament results

The sprint tournament at Maximum Velocity 6 saw 10 riders competing on an omnium basis. The event took place on Tue 15 Mar 2022 at Bellville velodrome.

The top 6 riders scored points in the following events:

  • Flying 200m
  • Match sprint
  • Keirin A final

Flying 200m results

Burton Witbooi set the fastest flying 200m time at 11.57s. Jordan September who is a junior was not far behind in 2nd place at 11.76s

Here are the other times:

3. Wade Theunissen 11.82

4. Graeme Ockhuis 12.09

5. Duwayne Adams 12.2

6. Oswin Booysen 12.36

7. Hendrik Grobbelaar 12.57

8. Gavin Cannone 12.58

9. Dirk van Zyl 12.65

10. Matthew Ferguson 12.96

The flying 200m efforts were followed by the match sprints, but first Dirk van Zyl and Matthew Ferguson had to ride a 2-up sprint to determine who goes through to the 3-up sprints. Dirk kicked hard in the back straight on the final lap and opened up a gap for a solid win in 12.61s

Results of 3-up sprints:

P3,4 & 5 from the qualifyers 3-up result:

  1. Graeme Ockhuis 13.17
  2. Wade Theunissen
  3. Duwayne Adams

P2,6 & 7 from the qualifyers 3-up result:

  1. Jordan September 12.08
  2. Oswin Booysen
  3. Hendrik Grobbelaar

P1, 8 from 200m & winner of the 2-up sprint

  1. Burton Witbooi 12.16
  2. Dirk van Zyl
  3. Gavin Cannone

The winners of the 3-up sprints then proceeded to ride for P1-3 in the match sprint. The 2nd placed riders rode for P4-6 and the 3 riders for P7-9.


  1. Duwayne Adams 12.29
  2. Hendrik Grobbelaar
  3. Gavin Cannone


  1. Wade Theunessen 12.39
  2. Oswin Booysen
  3. Dirk van Zyl


  1. Jordan September 11.99
  2. Graeme Ockhuis
  3. Burton Witbooi

P6-9 and Matthew Ferguson rode in the Keirin B final

  1. Duwayne Adams
  2. Gavin Cannone
  3. Matthew Ferguson
  4. Hendrik Grobbelaar

P1-6 rode in the keirin A-final

  1. Wade Theunissen
  2. Jordan September
  3. Oswin Booysen
  4. Dirk van Zyl
  5. Greame Ockhuis
  6. Burton Witbooi DNS (technical after being dropped by holder on the line)

Final Sprint tournament points

  1. Jordan September 22
  2. Wade Theunissen 17
  3. Burton Witbooi 14
  4. Graeme Ockhuis 11
  5. Oswin Booysen 7
  6. Dirk van Zyl 4
  7. Duwayne Adams 2
  8. Gavin Cannone 0
  9. Hendrik Grobbelaar 0
  10. Matthew Ferguson 0

Position of riders on equal points was determined by who finished the best in the keirin.

TrackCyclingSA to host track classic

TrackCyclingSA club will host the Maximum Velocity track classic at Bellvlle velodrome. The event takes place on Tuesday 15 March 2022 at 7pm.

Maximum Velocity 6 makes a welcome comeback after the event took a break over the past few years.

The club has pulled out all the stops to make it a memorable event. There will be a sprint invitational race featuring Wade Theunissen, Duwayne Adams, Jordan September, Burton Witbooi, Dirk van Zyl and Hendrik Grobbelaar.

Wade Theunissen will be spearheading the invitation sprint competition. Photo by Rudie Kellerman

Category A racing will be fast with the elimination scratch and scooter scratch races being the highlights. U17 boys and cat B will race together to help the u17s to prep for national champs.

The women’s racing at Maximum Velocity is always top class and there is a separate women’s category.

Who will triumph at MV6?

Innovation is key and Maximum Velocity will bring something new to the veterans 30+ racing with masters 50+ receiving a handicap advantage.

Veteran’s racing is well supported at Bellville velodrome

Scholars are important for the future and there is a full program for the youngsters. Their program and price giving finishes a bit earlier since it is a school night.

Pre-entries close on Friday 11 March 2022.

There are limited spots, but late entries will be accepted on the line where we still have space available.

Here is the program:

TrackCyclingSA club supports local events

TrackCyclingSA started the track year at the Jeanné Nell track classic that was held at Bellville velodrome. The even took place on Friday 25 February.

What an event celebrating one of SAs most talented sprinters. There was racing for scholars, women, veterans and elites. Local businesses, Intellibus and New Door, sponsored the event. It was definitely one of the top events that the velodrome has seen over recent years.

The program was innovative and racing was positive and fast. Well done to club members Simon Augustyn, Donna Marriott Lowry, Dirk van Zyl, Callie Greeff, Matthew Ferguson and Jaco Scholtz who participated.

TrackCyclingSA club took the top step in the masters competition after Jaco Scholtz won the points race and tempo races.

Dirk van Zyl and Matthew Ferguson both went through to the B-final of the keirin competition.